Author Topic: Replace Starter Motor/Solenoid on a Citroen Xsara 2.0 HDi 51 plate  (Read 5415 times)

Offline einstein-a-go-go

Replace Starter Motor/Solenoid on a Citroen Xsara 2.0 HDi 51 plate

How easy is this do, I'm not a mechanic, but I've done exhausts and manifolds, gaskets on a Pug 205.

I've got not Haynes manual, not looked at the engine bay yet, spoke to garage, and they told me it was a difficult job, because drive shafts have to be removed!

just lost job, so got no money really, to spend ?250 at the garage to get down, so If I can with my tools on the drive (got no ramps or pit).

I may give it a go, and try and get a new one from ebay.

Any tips, or best left to professionals?

Kwik Fit quoted ?450!

I've been having problems starting, and over the last year, it's been very laboured turning over, purchased new battery in Dec 10, because thought it was that, and then smoke appeared twice when turning over on two occasions, and now it just goes click and no start.

Offline The Wrinkly Ninja

• aka Phil1.6
  • Administrator
  • WRC Champion
  • C5 2.0 HDi 138 Exclusive Auto.
Re: Replace Starter Motor/Solenoid on a Citroen Xsara 2.0 HDi 51 plate
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 12:27:17 am »
There isn't a Haynes for the Phase II. You might get a clue from the Pug 307 book or similar.

I suggest you join the Service.Citroen site. Details are available on this forum for the login and password. You can then feed in your VIN and get individual information about your model, 90 or 110 bhp. You should find the exploded diagrams helpful.

I can't give you a definitive guide but a few pointers may help. You will need to disconnect the battery. Do not rush the removal and refitting - you must allow time from switching ignition off before disconnect and similarly when reconnecting and then turning on the first time - 2 minutes each time or you stand a real risk of screwing the ECU or BSI.